Saturday, 15 March 2014


Spirals are of three kinds :-

1)  Equiangular Spiral or Logarithmic Spiral :-

Its equation is  r=ae to the power (theta cot alfa)

As   theta  ranges from  -infinity to  infinity.

r  ranges from   theta  to  infinity.

The curve has a characteristic property that the   tangent  makes a constant angle with the radius vector

i.e.  phay=alfa (constant)

origin is not on the curve.

2)  Spiral or Archimedes :-

The equation is  r=a theta

This is a curve described by a point which moves along a straight line with constant velocity while the line rotates with constant angular velocity about a fixed point in it.

Thus;  r=ut

and  theta= omega.t

Hence;  a=u/omega  

3)  Reciprocal Spiral.


Clearly,  y=r.sine theta

              =(r.sine theta.theta)/theta

            =(a.sine theta)/theta

therefore;  y=Lt theta-->0  (a.sine theta)/theta=a

therefore;   y=a   is any asymptote .

No comments:

Post a Comment

Our Latest Post

How to find log (alpha+ i beta), Where alpha and beta are real

Here is the video to show the details of solving this problem. It is an important problem for basic understanding about the logarithm of re...

Popular Post